6 Channels are here

News and information about what new functionality and developments lie ahead for SBS systems and BaseStation.

Moderators: KineticDavid, admin, KineticChris, Moderators

6 Channels are here

Postby KineticChris » August 30th, 2012, 4:38 pm

2012-08-30

Kinetic Avionics Limited is delighted to announce the release of beta firmware and a Basestation release to provide 6 receiver channels on the SBS-3.
The release is available now from the Downloads area of our site.
Chris Taylor
Taylor Made RF
www.taylormaderf.com
User avatar
KineticChris
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2494
Joined: July 29th, 2005, 8:14 am

Re: 6 Channels arte here

Postby mhm » August 30th, 2012, 5:30 pm

Well done Chris. Keep up the good work
User avatar
mhm
 
Posts: 616
Joined: November 29th, 2005, 7:49 pm
Location: EGCC

Re: 6 Channels arte here

Postby satcom » August 30th, 2012, 8:18 pm

Scanning ?
User avatar
satcom
 
Posts: 1506
Joined: January 10th, 2006, 3:04 pm

Re: 6 Channels arte here

Postby KineticChris » August 30th, 2012, 9:25 pm

Next on the list John
Chris Taylor
Taylor Made RF
www.taylormaderf.com
User avatar
KineticChris
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2494
Joined: July 29th, 2005, 8:14 am

Re: 6 Channels arte here

Postby mike167 » August 30th, 2012, 9:51 pm

Hi Chris

Update installed OK - everything works as previously for SDR 1 to 4, including the new audio mixer panel.
Only problem is the SDR 5 and 6 panels are completely unresponsive - unable to enter any frequency info, change tuner or mode.
Anybody else got this problem ? Or have I missed something ?!

Mike
mike167
 
Posts: 15
Joined: February 14th, 2011, 12:43 pm

Re: 6 Channels arte here

Postby KineticChris » August 30th, 2012, 10:05 pm

Did you do software and firmware?
Chris Taylor
Taylor Made RF
www.taylormaderf.com
User avatar
KineticChris
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2494
Joined: July 29th, 2005, 8:14 am

Re: 6 Channels are here

Postby KineticChris » August 30th, 2012, 10:06 pm

By the way when you do the firmware you must power cycle the SBS-3 as well
Chris Taylor
Taylor Made RF
www.taylormaderf.com
User avatar
KineticChris
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2494
Joined: July 29th, 2005, 8:14 am

Re: 6 Channels arte here

Postby Keith D » August 30th, 2012, 10:20 pm

mike167 wrote:Hi Chris

Update installed OK - everything works as previously for SDR 1 to 4, including the new audio mixer panel.
Only problem is the SDR 5 and 6 panels are completely unresponsive - unable to enter any frequency info, change tuner or mode.
Anybody else got this problem ? Or have I missed something ?!

Mike



Hi

all working perfectly here

plan of action here :-

1] [ethernet] remove all !!! connections on rear of unit
1a] if you are using USB for connection just remove all other leads>>leave the usb cable as was/is
2] connect unit to computer with supplied USB lead both black and red connections at computer end
2a] ethernet only >>wait for computer to tell you new hardware drivers have been installed
3] download new firmware file and firmware installer and place in a new empty folder on C drive
4] right click on firmware file and select "open with">>aim it to the uploader you place din same new folder
5] dos window opens>>>loads of little dashes >>leave it to do its thing>>when done dos window disappears
6] download new basestation.exe file[software upgrade]
7] rename you old basestation.exe file [ anything will do]
8] copy and paste new basestation.exe to same location
9] disconnect USB lead from unit[etherent only]
10] close down computer
11] re-connect all leads to rear of unit
12] restart computer
13] turn on unit power supply if ethernet
14] start basestation
15] those using USB as there connetion as against Ethernet make sure you restart computer to power cycle the SBS3 unit
prior to opening bastation

all worked perfectly here
and new firmware and software running correctly >>so far, inc all 6 radio's

cheers

K/
Last edited by Keith D on August 31st, 2012, 6:34 am, edited 2 times in total.
Keith D
 
Posts: 2585
Joined: September 12th, 2005, 7:17 am

Re: 6 Channels are here

Postby mike167 » August 30th, 2012, 10:35 pm

Thanks Chris & Keith for your prompt responses - Looks like I messed up on the firmware upgrade, :oops:
I'll try it again tomorrow, (been a long day here, that's my excuse and I'm sticking to it :lol: )
I'll get back to you if I've still got problems - Thanks again.

Mike
mike167
 
Posts: 15
Joined: February 14th, 2011, 12:43 pm

Re: 6 Channels are here

Postby satcom » August 31st, 2012, 9:17 am

Any chance of a direct link to the sw/fw and uploader files please ?
Checked SBS 3 Beta , SBS Beta SBS3 etc

Ta
User avatar
satcom
 
Posts: 1506
Joined: January 10th, 2006, 3:04 pm

Re: 6 Channels are here

Postby Anmer » August 31st, 2012, 9:35 am

John, these are the links for the beta SBS-3 firmware V116 and Basestation V173:

http://www.kinetic.co.uk/newsite/basest ... ads1.php#6

The firmware uploader is the same as before:

http://www.kinetic.co.uk/newsite/basest ... ads1.php#2
Anmer
Radarspotting.com
Radarspotting since 2005
User avatar
Anmer
 
Posts: 6663
Joined: November 22nd, 2007, 8:35 pm
Location: England

Re: 6 Channels are here

Postby satcom » August 31st, 2012, 9:43 am

Thanks Mike

My visits there revelaed the old stuff....perhaps its my cache

Enjoy your hols

John
User avatar
satcom
 
Posts: 1506
Joined: January 10th, 2006, 3:04 pm

Re: 6 Channels are here

Postby satcom » August 31st, 2012, 1:27 pm

All up and running fine on the new fw and sw.
User avatar
satcom
 
Posts: 1506
Joined: January 10th, 2006, 3:04 pm

Re: 6 Channels are here

Postby KineticChris » August 31st, 2012, 9:57 pm

I have had a lot of emails asking what else can be decoded using the SBS-3 SDR radios

Here are a few programs and frequencies
I have tried all the following using an AUDIO cable from the back of the SBS-3 and feeding it into the line in on the PC.Volume needs tinkering but once set can be left

SSTV 144.500 FM this is radio hams sending pictures over air. use this software it works well http://hamsoft.ca/pages/mmsstv.php

Pocsag pager style data 155.1350 FM for UK Use PDW version 3.1 available here http://www.gsm-antennes.nl/PDW/pdw.php? ... #downloads

Weather FAX 137.100 (There are others search NOAA) I get best results on WFM software I use read up here and download software here http://www.qsl.net/w2va/freeware.htm

there is much more to explore and I will put a video together as time permits.

If you have the luxury of 2 monitors you can play with these programs while the SBS-3 carries on running Basestation

Have Fun :D
Chris Taylor
Taylor Made RF
www.taylormaderf.com
User avatar
KineticChris
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2494
Joined: July 29th, 2005, 8:14 am

Re: 6 Channels are here

Postby EDDV » September 1st, 2012, 1:45 am

I have updated my SBS-3 to the firmware and I have also updated the Basestation software. ADS-B and ACARS work fine and I am very happy about the 6 SDRs because now I can receive 3 ACARS frequencies and 2 AIS frequencies.
But I have a problem: I don't receive any AIS messages. I am using ShipPlotter and before the update I always saw a couple of ships. Now I haven't received any messages for hours. Is the AIS decoding missing in the new firmware?
I am using Beta 116.
EDDV
 
Posts: 25
Joined: January 17th, 2008, 10:51 pm

Next

Return to News / Announcements

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest